Driving Simulator Hits The Road

Friday, 20 August 2010

This high tech computer driving simulator is modelled on the type used to train pilots and is an Australian-first and it hits the road thanks to property developer and manager Lend Lease’s community program On The Safe Side.

Russell White tests the DriverSafety.com.au simulator“Computer simulators are usually seen in universities for research,” said Russell White, managing director of DriverSafety.com.au. “This is the first time this technology is available for the general public to use.”

The portable simulators contain a series of simulations designed mimic Australian driving conditions including fog and torrential rain. It also contains country and urban driving simulations and is designed to test and measure the skills of both learner and experienced drivers.

“In fact international studies on pilots show that one hour of simulator training is worth two in the cockpit and create a heightened ability to deal with unexpected events during an emergency situation and elevates higher order skills such as situational awareness," said Mr White.

“We want to bring that same advantage to Australian drivers.”

Over the past three years DriverSafety.com.au has created one of the world’s most comprehensive and holistic approaches to driver training that is now being used by some of Australia’s largest fleet operators.

The DriverSafety.com.au driving simulator can be experienced at the following locations:

  • Caneland Central Mackay:                                   Friday 20 August-Thursday 26 August 2010

  • Sunshine Plaza Sunshine Coast:                      Saturday 4 September - Friday 10 September 2010

  • Indooroopilly Shopping Centre Brisbane:        Saturday September 11 - Thursday September 17

  • Macarthur Square Sydney:                                   Monday 20 September - Sunday 26 September 2010

  • Greensborough Plaza Melbourne:                     Saturday 9 October - Thursday 14 October

  • CS Square Melbourne:                                         Saturday 16 October - Thursday 21 October 2010

  • Pakenham Place Melbourne:                              Saturday 23 October - Thrusday 28 October

  • Erina Fair NSW Central Coast:                           Saturday 6 November - Friday 12 November 2010


More From Driver Safety

  • Corporate Drive Days

    We can help to make your next drive event a truly unforgetable experience Find out more

  • Fleet Safety Management

    Our services include a complete fleet safety training management program Find out more

  • Driver Protect Program

    Special Offer-This all new package includes training and 1 year's road side assistance Find out more